Matthieu Ricard is the founder of Karuna-Shechen, a charitable non-profit organization rooted in the ideal of compassion in action. Since 2000, Karuna-Shechen has been developing and managing programs in primary health care, education, and social services for the under-served populations of India, Nepal, and Tibet.

Karuna-Shechen works with local partners to ensure that the programs it develops respond to the specific needs and aspirations of the communities they serve, while preserving and utilizing their unique cultural heritages. Special attention is given to the education and empowerment of women and girls.

With its staff in direct contact with the populations involved in the projects, Karuna-Shechen's activities have a significant impact on individuals, their families, and their communities. The support for the projects is raised by Matthieu Ricard and Karuna-Shechen's four worldwide non-profit branches.

In 2015, over 400,000 people benefited from Karuna-Shechen’s programs. Examples of recent projects completed by Karuna-Shechen in the last two years include building schools in remote locations, the installation of solar electricity in villages in Nepal and India, a comprehensive earthquake relief program in Nepal, and a non-formal education program and vocational training for disadvantaged women in India.

Karuna-Shechen continues to develop and grow in order to better help the populations it serves. Please consider joining its efforts with your support.

Matthieu Ricard est le fondateur de Karuna-Shechen, une association à but non lucratif avec pour idéal la compassion en action. Depuis 2000, Karuna-Shechen initie et gère des projets spécialisés dans la prestation de soins de santé primaires et de services éducatifs et sociaux aux populations défavorisées en Inde, au Népal et au Tibet.

Karuna-Shechen travaille avec des partenaires locaux afin de s'assurer que les projets mis en place répondent au mieux aux besoins et aspirations des communautés qu'elle sert, dans le respect de leurs héritages culturels uniques. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’éducation des enfants, l’autonomisation économique des femmes et des jeunes filles, ainsi qu’à l‘accès aux soins médicaux et autre services de première nécessité dans les zones rurales et reculées.

Grâce à son mode de fonctionnement en contact direct avec les populations, les activités de Karuna-Shechen ont un impact significatif et direct sur les personnes, les familles, et leurs communautés. Les fonds nécessaires aux activités sont récoltés par Matthieu Ricard et par les différentes antennes de Karuna-Shechen dans le monde.

Karuna-Shechen continue à se développer pour continuer à aider les populations qu'elle sert, et a besoin de votre aide et de votre soutien !

Le nom de Karuna-Shechen exprime sa mission tout en rendant hommage à ses origines. "Karuna" signifie compassion en sanskrit et "Shechen" est le nom d’un important monastère au Tibet.